top of page

FINN Partners Scholarship & Internship Winners

Finn Partners Scholar-Intern Amber Roman

How to Leverage Opportunities as a CCNY Ad/PR Major


Amber Roman

Getting accepted to the Ad/PR program in Spring 2020 transformed my college experience. My relationships with Ad/PR students and professors have grown immensely (even during Covid). I value the support students give me, and one another, and that professors are always willing to mentor students and guided me, especially when I needed them. I also appreciated the extensive network and professional resources Ad/PR provides to help students jump-start their careers. I knew it was up to me to take advantage of all that Ad/PR offered.


In Fall 2020, I was encouraged to apply for the competitive Finn Partners Diversity & Inclusion Award by my former professor and current mentor, Lynn Appelbaum. After an intensive application and interview process, I was selected as the $3,000 scholarship recipient, which included a Spring 2021 internship with the agency. I started in February, working remotely on the Manufacturing and Trade practice assisting on multiple client accounts.


As I anticipated graduation in Spring 2021, I was unsure if there would be a full-time position at Finn Partners, so I explored additional opportunities. When Finn Partners offered me a full-time Assistant Account Executive job, this was what I hoped for— and I jumped at the opportunity.


However, because I cast a wide net, I was also accepted to summer internships with Weber Shandwick and 360PR. Appreciative of these opportunities promoted by The LAGRANT Foundation and Lynne Scott Jackson, I would encourage others to apply for all opportunities that come your way.

It was an overwhelming experience to complete my major in just three semesters and graduate with several professional opportunities to choose from. I am excited about my path ahead at Finn Partners and grateful to them for investing in my growth and to Ad/PR for preparing the way.


My best advice to students joining or soon to graduate the Ad/PR Program is to be consistent, dedicated and plan ahead. You’re the one who navigates your life, so why wait? The Ad/PR program provides students with multiple resources, so apply to all internships that resonate with you; even on deadline, you never know what will come from it.


Life is full of surprises, so don’t wait for opportunities to come to you; go out and create opportunities for yourself.



Jennifer Castillo

FINN Partners Scholar-Intern


Jennifer Castillo

FINN Partners’ other talented CCNY Ad/PR All Star this semester is Jennifer Castillo, an intern for the New York Health Team. A member of FINN Partner’s DEI Committee, she received the PR Council’s Agency - Ready Certificate and is Muck Rack Certified in the Fundamentals of Social Media and Media Relations.


136 views
bottom of page